1. Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela   

South Africa

Mandela was a South African anti-apartheid revolutionary and politician. He was sentenced on four counts of sabotage and conspiracy to violently overthrow the government and, in 1964, he was sentenced to life in prison. He was released in 1990 and served as president of South Africa from 1994 to 1999. Mandela was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993, among more than two hundred and fifty honors he received before his death in 2013.